Jules Does

Jules Does K-Pop Academy: More Musings on K-Pop

Posted on: December 3, 2014

Last night I found myself explaining exactly what it was I’ve been doing on Saturdays to a person who kept asking “Well, ok, but what is K-pop? Like, what does it sound like? What’s distinctive about it?”

Obviously the most honest and straightforward way of describing it is to call it pop music from South Korea. It sounds much like the pop music elsewhere (some bands share writers with other groups like One Direction) but it has a distinctly Korean identity that is somehow bigger than just the language barrier. Eventually I concluded that he’d just have to watch some to see what it is, but there’s a difference between understanding what something is and why people like it.

To that end, I wanted to post this video by one of my fellow K-Pop academy students, Annabelle, on why K-pop appeals to her. Many of her reasons are the same as mine, but she has a way of putting things that I think you’ll enjoy.

Mr A, if you’re reading this, I hope things are a little clearer now!

Leave a Reply

